30 day shredding it

For a long time this blog has kind of lacked direction. Our fertility issues are kind of stagnating partly due to not  being able to get a referral and partly through my cycle being non existent! The first part I can do little about right now but the latter I can try and help along by losing some weight. I have been going to Zumba for about 2 months now and I LOVE it. Seriously, if you haven’t tried it, go now! It’s like an exercise party, rather than an uphill slog, so much fun even if you can’t dance. Although Zumba is good, working out just one time a week is just not going to cut it. I’d like to join another Zumba class but the ones I can get to on time are a bit more expensive and we are on a budget!

So I decided, after hearing my SOL was trying it, to do the 30 Day Shred by Jillian Michaels. Ever watched The Biggest Loser? She’s on that, the American version any way. Obviously on Mondays I will have Zumba (apart from today), so I will do that as normal on those days and follow The Shred the other 6 days. I had a look at the video and there are a couple  of bits I can’t do because of my wrists issues but I’m sure I can work in something else there. Plus I really want to add in more to work my core. It looks doable and the results I’ve seen on some other blogs look amazing, just google 30 day shred blogs and see what comes up!

I took my measurements before I start and I hadn’t realised how much I’d put on :(. Last time I measured:

  • Bust: 39″
  • Arms: 10.5″
  • Waist: 34″ (at the widest point, 31 at the smallest!)
  • Hips/Butt: 39″
  • Thighs: 23″
Admittedly this was a few years ago but still. Bad, bad, bad now:
  • Bust: 43″
  • Arms: 11.5″
  • Waist: 38″ (at the widest point, 34 at the smallest)
  • Hips/Butt: 44″
  • Thighs: 26″

I don’t weigh but I’m aiming to lose 15 inches or approximately 1 stone/14 lbs. I think that’s a realistic goal so hopefully I can keep to it. Good thing about having PCOS is that you gain muscle faster than normal if you work at it.

So I’m hoping to update everyday here, let you know how I’m finding it, how easy/hard the workouts are and any noticeable improvements before I reach the end. If you’re doing, have done or decide to join me in doing the 30 Day Shred please let me know. I’d love to see your journey!

N.B BC is a semi qualified personal trainer so I feel comfortable getting him to amend my work outs to suit me. You probably should not deviate too much from the work out if you don’t know what you are doing!

Leave a Reply

